Q10. Match the Windows Azure Execution models with Cloud Computing Delivery models?

Before we match windows Azure Execution models with Cloud Computing Delivery models let us see briefly what are cloud computing delivery models. Services offered by cloud computing vendors fall into any one of the delivery model. Broadly, delivery models are categorized into three types and they are:

  • IaaS
  • PaaS
  • SaaS

IaaS is an abbreviation for infrastructure as a service. Services which allow us use hardware such as servers, load balancers, firewalls, networks and other associated hardware infrastructure fall into this category.

PaaS is an abbreviation for Platform as a service. Services which allow us to use a complete platform components such as runtime, middleware, O/S, virtualization, servers, storage, and networking fall into this category.

SaaS is an abbreviation for Software as a service. As name indicates, SaaS indicates to software which is available as a service. We use it and pay for the software on monthly or yearly subscription basis.

Now let us compare execution models offered by Azure and Computing Delivery models

Virtual Machines	-	(IaaS Virtual machines) 
Web Sites	-	(PaaS - Managed Web sites)
Cloud Services	-	(PaaS Cloud Services)

matching execution models with cloud computing delivery models In Windows Azure, IaaS is available as Windows Azure Virtual Machines. Under PaaS category, azure provides two execution models, Web Sites and Cloud Services, each provides different services and has its own benefits. Under SaaS category, office 365 and many other software are available.